

Single-Use Plastic Working Group Terms of Reference

Purpose

To provide perspectives to inform actions to reduce single-use plastics.

Scope

The McGowan Government announced actions in November 2020 to reduce single-use plastic impacts in *Western Australia's Plan for Plastics*. To ensure government actions are well-considered and do not have unintended adverse consequences

Working group members will:

attend bimonthly meetings of the Single-use Plastic Working Group organise a suitable proxy if unable to attend provide advice that represents members views contribute information and data maintain confidentiality in relation to information or papers (where required) declare conflict(s) of interest provide feedback on the communication and engagement strategy agree to the terms of a code of conduct.

Confidentiality

Matters to be kept confidential to the working group will be identified at each meeting.

Communications

Members may not make public comment on matters discussed by the group, or on behalf of the group, to the media, outside organisations, or close contacts unless approved by the Chair. Working group members commit to using agreed messaging on single-use plastics.

Review cycle

Terms of Reference are to be reviewed once key milestones for policy actions are achieved through sign off by the Director General of the department, or as determined via agreement by members where any changes occur.

Attachment A List of members

Organisation	Member		
Department of Water and Environmental	Michelle Andrews		
Regulation	Director General Chair		
Australian Hotels Association WA	Bradley Woods		
	Chief Executive Officer		
Australian Medical Association (WA) Inc	Dr Tony Ryan		
, ,	Physician		
Australian Packaging Covenant	Peter Brisbane		
Organisation	Government Partnership Manager		
Australian Retailers Association	Jason Robertson		
	Director Sustainability		
Brightwater	Janet Wagland		
	General Manager Community		
Carers Advisory Council	Esme Bowen		
	Chair		
Council on the Ageing WA	Christine Allen		
	Chief Executive Officer		
Department of Communities	Bronwynn Comerford		
	Sector Support Manager		
Department of Health	Neil Keen		
	Director		
Developmental Disability WA	Leticia Grant		
	Senior Advocate		
Master Grocers Association	Jos de Bruin		
	Chief Executive Officer		
National Disability Services	Julie Waylen		
	State Manager Western Australia		
National Retail Association	David Stout		
	Director, Policy		
Pharmacy Guild of Australia	Melissa Benson		
	Business Support Pharmacist		
Plastic Free Foundation	Rebecca Prince-Ruiz		
	Executive Director		
People with Disabilities (WA) Inc	Brendan Cullinan		
	Executive Director		
Restaurant and Catering Industry	Tom Green		
Association	Manager Policy and Government		
South West Aboriginal Medical Service	Lesley Nelson		
	Chief Executive Officer		
WA Local Government Association	Rebecca Brown		
	Manager, Waste and Recycling		
WWF Australia	Katinka Day		
	No Plastics in Nature Policy Manager		